Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

All right, so I’ve been lazy. I am one of those people who doesn’t plan her posts or record things promptly as they happen. Hence, the timings of these posts have been erratic.Anyhoo, to keep the ball rolling, I am reviewing a book today for a change.

I recently read the book Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer and I must say, it was the most interesting book I’ve ever read. Note the use of the word “interesting”.

Let me put it in a nutshell. The protagonist is Oskar Schell, a 9-year old German American whose father Thomas Schell had passed away in the 9/11 attacks. He finds a key and the word “Black” written on the back of an envelope in a vase hidden in his dad’s wardrobe and he sets off on a quest to find the lock that the key is made for, wandering all over New York trying to locate every person with the last name “Black” who can help him do so. Oskar has always had “heavy boots” since his dad died because his dad tried to call him and he didn’t pick up the phone on the day of the attacks.

Now the book is interesting because it is written in different voices – Oskar who is narrating his entire journey, Oskar’s grandmother who writes severals letters of her past to Oskar and Oskar’s grandfather who had written several letters to his son but never posted them.

I cannot truthfully say that I had the most satisfactory experience reading it since I often felt overwhelmed reading entire paragraphs of text but I can most certainly say that the book was different and not to be missed. Not only is the story different, but the author has put certain feelings and created such a vivid picture of things that no little 9-year old boy or any adult could have ever imagined. It is extremely beautiful, only a tad overwhelming to take in, atleast for me.

As I write this, I am trying to acquire the film adaptation of the book starring Tom Hanks, Sandra Bullock and the young boy Thomas Horn. Cannot wait to see the film as it stars my favourite T.Hanks. 🙂 🙂 Will review the film as soon as I watch it.

Thomas Horn as Oskar Schell with Tom Hanks as his father
in the film Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

You can email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com
You can also follow me on Facebook , InstagramTwitter, Goodreads and BlogLovin’

Email Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE

 

5 thoughts on “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

