27 things to do before 28

27 things to do before 28So my 28th birthday is in 5 months (gasp!) and this got me thinking on all the things I have been meaning to do but never got done (audible sigh). Technically, I should have started working on this list last year, after I turned 27 but I never got around to doing that either (deep sigh).

Truth be told, I don’t feel a day over 18, and I look even younger. Everyone is always surprised that I am on the other side of my twenties and always tell me how lucky I am, only sometimes I wish I had a more mature face so people would take me a bit more seriously. But then I think of the positive side of it – 10 years from now I will still be looking like I am in my mid-twenties and that puts a big smile on my face. πŸ˜€

It’s true that I am famously known in my family for not being the world’s most organized person and making a list is the first step that will hopefully help me to not procrastinate anymore.

I have made several lists before that are confined in the pages of my diaries and sometimes when I look back, some of the items have been completed unconsciously, thus proving that making lists do helps to set the wheels in motion.

So without further ado, here is my list of 27 things to do:

1) Drink 8 glasses of water everyday. This is my #1 priority.

2) Have coconut water everyday. Coconut water is truly a wonder food. I used to have it regularly last year for 3-4 months and would like to start again.

3) Eat even more healthy foods than usual. I like to think I have been eating healthily since the past few years but there are some ways I would like to change my diet and haven’t been able to do so.
Sep 2015 Update: DONE. I have been following a gluten-free, vegan lifestyle since 2011, but this year, I have also cut out all fried foods, junk food including packaged and processed foods. This is a serious attempt to heal my digestive system which was screaming for help. I’m glad to say that this is going really well with very few hiccups.

4) Make exercise a part of my daily routine. Especially going for a walk and start doing yoga again.
Sep 2015 Update: In-progress. I exercise regularly at home including some stretching, cardio and yoga.

5) Read everyday. I used to be able to finish a book in half a day. My university library has a great collection of books that I would like to finish reading before I graduate in July 2014.

6) Learn one French word and/or phrase everyday. I got interested in learning the language when some of my French colleagues used to teach me phrases at work. Now I am determined to learn it, especially since a couple of us have been planning to go on a Europe trip next year.

7) Book the Europe trip package for next year.

8) Start making daily and weekly lists. Short term goals help me stay in focus.

9) Make a new vision board. I did this in 2011 and I am happy to say, I attracted a couple of things on the board.
Sep 2015 Update: In progress.

10) Blog at least 2-3 times a week. I have a deep admiration for all the amazing bloggers out there and I would like to write something meaningful and share a part of myself with others too. πŸ™‚
Sep 2015 Update: In progress. Despite a couple of blogging slumps I struggled to get out of, I am still going strong with my blogging. πŸ™‚

11) Cook at least twice a week. I want to be able to cook through all the recipes I have collected through the years.
Sep 2015 Update: In Progress. Since I am at home, I cook once a day everyday. However, I still haven’t made any dent in the hundreds of recipes I have collected over the years.

12) Live with daily gratitude. Too often, we forget that it’s so important to say β€œThank You” for all the little things we take for granted everyday.
Sep 2015 Update: In Progress.

13) Get published. Whilst I would ideally like to finish and get published “The Great Indian Novel” (No, that’s not the title of my book) that I started writing almost a decade ago, I would be content with getting anything published in the coming 5 months. πŸ™‚

14) Join the 5-o’clock club. I read this in a book written by Robin Sharma where he stresses the importance of waking up at 5 o’clock every morning so that the day is more productive and energetic than it would be if you were to wake up at 8 o’clock. I would definitely like to try this out.
Sep 2015 Update: In-Progress. I am still working on this. For a while, I was very sincere about waking up at 5am however, I fell off the wagon a couple of times and haven’t gotten back on it diligently since then.

15) Teach myself photography. I have been learning the basics of using a DSLR camera in one of my classes and I am becoming more and more fascinated with the art.

16) Use social media more to my advantage rather than for procrastinating. I realize I spend more hours on Facebook and Twitter, doing absolutely nothing than doing things that really matter to me.
Sep 2015 Update: DONE. As of March this year, I stopped using Facebook. I removed it from my phone because I found I was using it way too excessively. I only check it about once a month to keep up-to-date on what’s happening. I also removed Twitter, Snapchat and other social media that was cutting into my useful time. It’s true that my close friends hate me for it but I hope they understand that it is for the betterment of my own self. However, I do use Instagram and Pinterest because I find lots of inspiration from both sources.

17) Cut down on hours spent on my smart phone. I have become a messaging and surfing addict and this has again slowed down my progress on all the things I want to achieve.
Sep 2015 Update: DONE. In the past month or two, I find myself using instant messaging less and less.

18) Start working on an idea for an online show. I have this dream of starting a cooking show with some of my friends and haven’t been doing much in the way of accomplishing it due to the above mentioned procrastinating habits.

19) Try a DIY project. I love the feeling of being able to make something rather than just buying it.

20) Watch more foreign films. I work at an amazing film festival and sadly, I don’t make an effort to catch up on the wonderful regional and foreign films that get screened every year.

21) Get new glasses. I cannot stress enough on how much I have been putting this off. I need new cooler frames.
DONE. I now own very cool nerdy frames. πŸ˜€

22) Get contact lenses. Though I can’t wear these everyday, I would like to have party pictures taken without me looking like a nerd in a cocktail dress. I have to strike this off my list unfortunately since I was advised by my ophthalmologist not to wear them. Awww, shucks.

23) Get a makeover. Nothing drastic, just some minor changes to my hair, clothing style etc.

24) Take a short trip to a natural surrounding. I haven’t seen the beach or mountains in a long time though I live in a country which fortunately has both.
Sep 2015 Update: DONE. My friend and I have gone on 3 road trips this year within the country and beyond to natural surroundings with beaches and mountains. πŸ™‚

25) Set aside 10% of my income. I keep meaning to do this every year.

26) Write a letter. I was a keen letter writer back in the day when there were no emails and I have saved every letter I have received. I want to do it again, at least once.
Sep 2015 Update: DONE. I have a lovely penpal Kate of the blog 101 Things Done and we have shared a couple of letters to each other already this year! πŸ™‚

27) Gossip less and be more positive. I am tempted to gossip about people as much as the next person, however, we all know how harmful it can get. So yeah, that’s my 27th item – to gossip less and be more positive about everything.

Making this list has definitely been a fun exercise. Here’s hoping I can get a head start on it immediately. So what’s in your list of things to do?

You can email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com
You can also follow me on FacebookΒ ,Β Instagram,Β Twitter, Goodreads andΒ BlogLovin’

Email Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE

 

4 thoughts on “27 things to do before 28

Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

