Quinoa Chickpea Salad

Image

My boss gave me this packet of goodness last year – stuff that I had only vaguely heard about. Quinoa. I didn’t know what it tasted like, didn’t know what it was. All I knew was, that it was gluten-free. And that was good enough for me.

I googled a bit, looked at countless recipes, YouTube videos et cetera, even tried a quinoa salad at a restaurant once (it was delicious!) but didn’t try making it, until a few days ago.

So I finally took the packet out of the pantry and decided to experiment. I didn’t follow a particular recipe, just mixed and matched stuff that I felt would work well with quinoa.

Since this was my first attempt at cooking quinoa, it was a teensy bit soggy but still retained its deliciously nutty flavor. The chickpeas really work well with this salad and the vegetables I tossed in were boiled beets, onions, tomatoes and cucumbers with loads of parsley and some mint. I didn’t have any olive oil handy so I just drizzled lemon juice and seasoned the salad with some salt.

I must say the salad turned out to be pretty good. Simple to make and really filling.

I am totally sold on quinoa and so excited to be trying other related recipes. Apparently, this seed is making quite the fashionable comeback after its huge popularity in the Incan Civilization some 6000 years ago! πŸ™‚

You can email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com
You can also follow me on FacebookΒ ,Β Instagram,Β Twitter, Goodreads andΒ BlogLovin’

Email Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE

 

One thought on “Quinoa Chickpea Salad

Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

