2015 Reading Challenge – Book #3 – My Point…..And I Do Have One

Book#3 – A memoir – My Point…And I Do Have One by Ellen Degeneres
Genre:
Memoir/Humour
Published:
1995
Country:
USA

My Point...And I Do Have One

Before I start writing this review, let me begin by saying how much I love Ellen. No scratch that. I ADORE her. To bits.

But then, who doesn’t? She is such a lovable human being with an amazing positive vibe, always doing so much for everyone and encouraging kindness and compassion in others by honoring them on her show. She really is “Ellen The Generous”.

And that is why when I came across Ellen’s memoir while researching for other memoirs, I figured “Why not?”. She is the most fun-loving and interesting celebrity in the industry and her first memoir would probably give me some inspiration.

Though once I started reading it, I changed my mind. It seems that there was really not much point to the memoir and it is Ellen’s sarcasm at her best when she titled it the way she did. The book is really about nothing in particular. It is simply a product of her over-imaginative mind. You know how when you wake up in the morning and remember last night’s dream, only the dream made no sense because it wasn’t sequential, had no coherence and was a mishmash of jumbled dialogues, random people you know and all put together in an improbable and weird situation? Well, that pretty much sums up this book.

Also, you know when you have random thoughts jumping around in your monkey mind with incessant chatter going in your head and sometimes you even talk to yourself? Yeah, well, this book is exactly that.

Ranging from psychics to talking birds and their psychiatrists, this book is a complete goofball. Actually, none of the jokes in the book (and the book is all about the jokes) are that funny on paper, they would have translated better on stage with Ellen’s comical expressions. So basically, this book is just a stand-up comedy script that accidentally got published.

I had to take so many breaks and at many points, felt like abandoning the book but I felt I should at least give it a chance for the sake of the reading challenge.

I know that it wouldn’t be fun if the book was too serious but I would have liked to draw a line somewhere between imagination and reality. It would have been nice to find out more about her background, and the scanty little there is has been shrouded in a very thick veil by more comedy.

Although, in brief instances, she made complete sense. I loved the chapter on how a person has to look a certain way because of societal pressures and that no one in the whole wide world has the right to tell you how you should look. Also, bits of the chapter on animals and how much she loves them and doesn’t condone animal testing are great.

I am no one to judge a person by the book they’ve written though. There could be thousands out there who must have loved it. Maybe it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

I still stand by what I said earlier – I love Ellen. No scratch that. I ADORE her. To bits. She is my favourite (celebrity) person and from what I see, everyone’s best friend. No airs about her, just a wonderful ability to make people happy and brighten up their days with her twinkling blue eyes and wide smile.

I guess the whole point of the book – the one she did have – was that life is definitely not to be taken too seriously. Look at her, she made a whole living by taking hers with a pinch of salt.

A few quotes from the book:

1. Cures for Hiccups: While holding your breath (or the breath of the person standing next to you), swallow three thousand times. Immediately shampoo your hair, but don’t use conditioner. Repeat.

Hold a kitten on your lap and pet it gently on its little head while singing any song by Air Supply (except from their first album).

2. I remember once, I met a guy while I was camping and we got along great. We were married two years before I realized he was a grizzly bear.

3. I do believe, though, that most animal testing is improper. If you want to test cosmetics, why do it on some poor animal who hasn’t done anything wrong? They should use prisoners who have been convicted of murder or rape instead. So, rather than seeing if some perfume irritates a bunny rabbit’s eyes, they should throw it in Charles Manson’s eyes and ask him if it hurts.

I am not sure if I am quite ready to read her other two books yet. Maybe I’ll leave them for another day.

You can email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com
You can also follow me on Facebook , InstagramTwitter, Goodreads and BlogLovin’

Email Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE
One thought on “2015 Reading Challenge – Book #3 – My Point…..And I Do Have One

Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

