My very first Top Ten Tuesday!

TOP TEN TUESDAY

 

I’m very excited to be part of my very first weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish! Today’s topic is “Top Ten Things I Like/Dislike When It Comes To Romances In Books.” which I am guessing is on account of Valentine’s Day, that’s just around the corner.

As I’ve so emphatically said before, I’ve been sadly left behind in the reading area. I have, though, not been left behind in the Romance genre as I’ve read years worth of these light reads.

Now, as per the instructions, I’ve done a list of 5 things I like and 5 I dislike about romances in books:

I like it:
1. When the hero and heroine are at sparring ends of each other, typically in a work environment. Comical conflict from the very beginning clears up the air in the latter part of the book when the two are forced to work together for a project.

2. When the heroine is a strong, independent woman who can take care of herself but secretly needs a little TLC too. (Anyone who says, “I can take care of myself, thank you very much.” is the one who needs a little bit of extra lovin’).

3. When a one-year contractual marriage (again between people who usually cannot stand each other) turns into a permanent one as the two start spending more time with one another and fall in love. Love is slowly getting to know each other’s quirks.

4. When the hero falls in love with the heroine before she does and relentlessly pursues her (but not in a creepy, stalkerish way!). There’s a man who is so obviously not afraid of commitment.

5. When two long-time best friends realise that they’ve been in love with each other all along and not known it. Friendship, as they say, is the foundation of love.

I vehemently dislike:
1. When the hero is sometimes portrayed as a horrible, arrogant prick of a boss picking on his employees, especially his new secretary/personal assistant who is usually the heroine. How rude!

2. When a passionate, one-night stand with a random stranger results in a baby leading to a forced marriage/living arrangement and eventually love. Disclaimer: Do not try this at home (or in a hotel). This has NO guarantee of a 100% success rate. Also, poor baby.

3. When a relationship/marriage between a ruthless Sicilian/Italian/Greek tycoon and a hard-up, vulnerable American/English woman is purely based on physical attraction and ends up culminating into love when the heroine runs away thinking she has been used and abused and the hero chases after her, realising he has loved her all along. Ti Amo! Amore Mio!

4. A jealous, possessive and insecure love resulting in a bad divorce/break up. Months or years of bad relationships later, fate decides to throw them together again which makes them realise they were so stupid in the first place to break up when they couldn’t obviously stop loving each other. They start over and live happily ever after.

5.  A luxurious lifestyle with a personal jet, big villas in Spain or humongous châteaux in the South of France where all the heroine does is eat exotic cuisine, swim in the Olympic-sized pool and basically get bored while the above mentioned Sicilian/Italian/Greek tycoon hero is off finalizing business deals or ruthlessly taking over small companies. He thinks nothing of casually throwing his cash around by buying the heroine diamond necklaces and properties on the side. Yawn, so typical.

What are your reasons for liking/disliking romances in books? What are your favorite classic or contemporary romance novels? Would love to hear from you.

You can email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com
You can also follow me on Facebook , InstagramTwitter, Goodreads and BlogLovin’

Email Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE

 

9 thoughts on “My very first Top Ten Tuesday!

    • Thistles and Whistles says:

      Hi Lisa ! Thank you so much. It was so much fun that I hope to participate in more weekly features! I had a look at your TTT just now and I loved your list too – I totally agree with you on so many points – for example disliking Insta-Love! 😀 Also, I love your blog and thank you so much for the compiled page of all the weekly features! I was looking for other features I could possibly participate in and found it on your blog! Cheers, Tx 🙂

      Like

  1. Laura says:

    1. HUGE fan of your graphics! 🙂
    2. I couldn’t help but think of that movie “Life As We Know It” with Josh Duhamel and Katherine Heigl when you mentioned the 1-year-contractual marriage. That can really make or break it for me in the likes/dislikes, but if written well that journey can be fun, romantic, and entertaining!
    3. Relentless pursuit in a non-stalker way YES. How many times do women have to deal with men fearing commitment?! COME ON FOLKS, it can totally be the other way around!
    4. ONE NIGHT STAND LOVES. NO. It’s so horrible 😦
    5. And NO to trophy girlfriends/wives. Agreed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thistles and Whistles says:

    Hi Laura, thank you so much for the kind comments!! You’re so sweet! 😀

    I agree with you on all points. I like the idea of a one-year contractual marriage that I’ve read in so many romances already but I agree, it depends on how well it is written, I’ve read some really good ones and some terrible ones (which include the much-hated Sicilian/Italian/Greek tycoon husbands).

    It’s totally time for some funny, quirky meet-cute situations where the hero and heroine are characterized as confident equals. 🙂

    Like

  3. S says:

    Haah you probably listed all the scenarios. Nice read! Agree with the 5 point of likes . Have you read ‘Just one of the guys- Kristan Higgins’ ? That’s the only Romance novel that I loved to bits. Agree with point 1 of dislike, I’d like to add, it so annoying that a male lead is shown as jerk but falls in love and becomes a decent guy. That’s a load of bull, love is not a brainwash 😉 Hopefully!

    Enjoyed reading this post .

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thistles and Whistles says:

      Thank you again! I’m glad you enjoyed reading it and true that! I wish there were more ‘realistic’ scenarios than absolute romanticized fantasies. I haven’t read the book you’ve mentioned but I’ll surely look into it. Thanks again for dropping by. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

