For the Love of Colin Firth – Kingsman: The Secret Service

Film: Kingsman: The Secret Service
Director: Matthew Vaughn
Genre: Spy Action Comedy
Adapted from: The Secret Service comic book series created by Dave Gibbons and Mark Millar in 2012
Cast: Colin Firth, Samuel L. Jackson, Michael Caine, Mark Strong, Taron Egerton, Sofia Boutella
Country: United Kingdom
Release Dates: 29 January 2015

To be honest, I didn’t know much about this film when I impulsively decided to go watch it. All I knew was that one of my favourite actors Colin Firth was part of the main cast and that this was his first proper action film.

Naturally, I was very curious. The poker-faced king of period films and comedy, flying through the air delivering kicks and punches and shooting people through the heads? This I had to see.

My impulsive decision, however, mostly stemmed from the fact that one of my DayZero goals was to go to a movie by myself. I’ve written more about this here.

Kingsman - The Secret Service-001

The film’s popup at the cinema

The premise of the film is as follows: Harry Hart aka ‘Galahad’, a secret agent working for Kingsman: The Secret Service, an independent international intelligence agency in London, advises Eggsy, the messed up son of his deceased colleague, to get his act together and apply for a position as a Kingsman spy too. Eggsy, who has nothing to lose, agrees, and undergoes a selection process which includes rigorous training and a series of tough tests to demonstrate bravery and presence of mind in the face of danger.

Meanwhile, Galahad and the other Kingsmen try to find out the connection that a billionaire businessman has with the mysterious disappearance of influential world leaders who have safely returned each time. It is up to the Kingsmen to foil the attempts of a dangerous plot that could potentially wipe out entire mankind.

James Bond is the inspiration behind the original The Secret Service comics and of course this film. All the characters are nicely sketched and I couldn’t decide who I loved more. From the ambition-less Eggsy with his strong Cockney accent who transforms into a suave secret agent to the hilariously bright personality of environment loving Valentine, all the characters had their own quirks.

Kingsman-The-Secret-Service-Team

L-R – Valentine, Gazelle, Eggsy, Galahad and Arthur

What amazed me above all was of course Colin Firth’s new action hero avatar. In the bar fight scene, I was sitting there with my eyes wide, my mouth opened in awe and my breath hitched, watching him deliver some well-deserved punches and tackle the ‘mannerless’ bad guys nonchalantly using a very special black Brigg umbrella and a mildly bored expression on his serious face. Did I mention how much I love Colin Firth?

colin-firth-kingsman-the-secret-service

The bar fight scene

For a girl who doesn’t usually watch too many hard action films, I LOVED this one and immediately wanted to watch it again. I mean, what’s not to love? A modern day London setting: CHECK. Debonair British spies in dapper suits and oxfords: CHECK. Ingenious spy gadgets and underground bullet capsule trains: CHECK. Colin Firth with his unique brand of deadpan British sarcasm and dry humour: CHECK. Samuel L. Jackson’s foul-mouthed, rough-talking villain with a strong lisp who cannot stand the sight of blood: CHECK. A ruthless beautiful woman with steel prosthetic legs that double as weapons: CHECK and CHECK.

cdn.indiewire.com

The church fight scene

The plot was really simple, all the elements fit very well and the story had a good balance of humour and seriousness to make it entertaining. To break the monotonous tones of the suited gents, there was Valentine who was always clad in bright neon colours which I loved. The five minute (or more!) church fight scene was the turning point from where things took an unexpected turn. The intricate choreography was shot speedily with the camera following the chaotic movements of Galahad and others present which added much to the thrill. In the last fight sequence, Gazelle (Sofia Boutella), Valentine’s lady henchman who did all his dirty work, performed some very athletic leaps and stunts including cleverly added freestyle movements (she is a real life hip-hop and freestyle dancer) which were a bit unnecessary but looked good. Not to forget, the splendid firework special effects towards the end, the details of which I dare not give away, were real fun to watch.

I think this movie was well-paced and I was entertained throughout. I would definitely watch it again in the cinemas given the opportunity. Oh, and if you’re planning to watch the film, make sure to stick around till the middle of the end-credits for an added scene. 🙂

Film Rating: 4.5 out of 5

You can email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com
You can also follow me on Facebook , InstagramTwitter, Goodreads and BlogLovin’

Email Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE

 

9 thoughts on “For the Love of Colin Firth – Kingsman: The Secret Service

    • Thistles and Whistles says:

      Thank you so much Clem! Wow, 3 times! I’m so jealous! I’ve wanted to go once again but take someone with me this time. It’s an adorable film (Well I can’t really call it that but Colin Firth is always adorable!) and meant to be watched in the theater for sure! 😀

      Like

  1. S says:

    You had me at sarcasm and dry humor :mrgreen: Now I surely HAVE to watch this one! I dont have favorite actors as such, but I am partial to Colin firth , he’s so sincere in all his films even the short roles, it’s difficult not to be involved in such a performance,last one I saw of his was King’s Speech and that got me bawling…. I didn’t know much of the movie either, I’ve stopped reading those newspaper reviews(such spoilers!!) but your review was cool .

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thistles and Whistles says:

      You HAVE to see this film ! I am very fond of Colin Firth because he has his poker faced humor pinned down so well that it’s hard not to find it funny. Plus, this movie has him showing off his new action hero side which I absolutely loved. Another movie of his I would definitely recommend is The Importance of Being Earnest. It’s a great one if you haven’t seen it ! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

