Take-A-Step Thursday #3 – Being Blogging Buddies (and other news)

guest-blogging-guidelines-300x300

Image Source: InkwellEditorial.com

Guest posting was never an option when I started blogging. It was like a microscopic wave of a thought that hadn’t even entered my mind yet. I started blogging with the intention of writing more often and even that seemed like a far-fetched goal. Would I be disciplined enough to sustain it for long? Would I have enough ideas or topics to talk about? Would anyone even read my blog?

And then came along Blogging 201. The course helped me connect with so many new and creative bloggers who are as eager to learn as I am and who I wouldn’t have been able to find so easily otherwise. And that was how I e-met Sophie of Keep Going, a lovely blogger with a passion for books and creative writing. 🙂

Sophie and I chatted on the prospect of guest blogging on each other’s blogs and brainstormed on a bookish topic which we’re working on right now. We’ve decided to start small and see where it takes us. It’s such a fun, exciting way to get to know your peers and share interesting ideas. Added bonus: Increasing your blogging portfolio. So, hopefully you’ll soon find my post on Sophie’s blog and her post on mine. I am also open to hosting more guest posts on my blog. So hello and welcome! 🙂

In other news, my first Take-A-Step Thursday event on cleaning up your act has yielded a very, very interesting result. So as I mentioned in that post, I unsubscribed to a lot of unnecessary email newsletters and updates, one of them being a regional recruitment/employment website where I had last updated my job profile four years ago and don’t even remember the password to. I no longer receive any updates from that website but a very odd thing has happened which is actually working in my favour: I have been receiving phone calls from a couple of recruitment agencies with job offers since the past few days! I was a bit suspicious and wondered where they got my number and CV from since I hadn’t even applied anywhere. On being asked, they mentioned they saw an update on my profile on the very same day that I did my unsubscribing exercise! My guess is that it must have activated an update and pushed my poor old and neglected profile to the top but this is amazing! Who would have guessed? Granted, I have only received a couple of offers and they aren’t exactly what I am looking for but this is an unexpected twist of fate and I am eager to see what happens! Meanwhile, I am going to update my old profile as soon as possible.

Moral of the story: It’s true! Clearing out clutter really does make way for new things to come into your life (and unsubscribing can be a good thing!)

Anything that has inspired you this week and caused you to take a step in the right direction? Participate in Take-A-Step Thursday by following the steps mentioned in this post.

For guest blogging/posting, please email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com with the subject title “Guest Posting/Blog Buddy”. I would love to hear your ideas.

You can also follow me on Facebook , InstagramTwitter, Goodreads and BlogLovin’

Email Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE
Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

