Take-A-Step Thursday #8 – Get Back On The Horse

200 follows
Hello Everyone!

First of all, thank you so much dear fellow bloggers for reading my little blog! I recently hit the 200 followers mark and I am completely over the moon! Never imagined when I started blogging in January that I would hit this milestone. Really thank you from the bottom of my heart. It really motivates me to keep writing! πŸ˜€

It’s been too long since I’ve posted something in the Take-A-Step Thursday series. In my previous one, I mentioned that my mother had had a fracture and we were busy figuring out a new routine that included taking care of her and everything else. I’m very happy to say that she is recovering well although it will take her some more time to get back to normal which is to be expected. Meanwhile, we have a workable routine going on too.

I’ve been meaning to get back to blogging and everything else I had set out to do but honestly, I was at a loss for words. I wasn’t sure what I was going to write about when I got back and I started procrastinating and becoming lazy. And that was making me feel guilty too. This defied my whole purpose of setting goals because procrastination, laziness and guilt were the biggest enemies I set out to defeat this year.

Anyway, I’ve jumped rightΒ  back on to the horse. I restarted my 2015 Reading Challenge (I was in a bit of a challenge slump – I would start a couple of books from the challenge and abandon them a few days later and would just opt for some comfort reading). Hence, I am a few weeks behind on the reading challenge but that’s okay. The point is to read a variety of books throughout the year and read them well. πŸ™‚

I have also somewhat rejoined the 5 AM Club. I say somewhat because it’s still a bit erratic. I have to mention though – the morning routine that I had established for myself earlier was working so well for me that when I abandoned it in April (I was just not feeling up to it) after my mom’s incident, it affected my health to a great extent. It’s amazing what a morning ritual can do for you in all areas of your life especially your health and I for one, can personally vouch for it. I finally decided I certainly didn’t want to let go of all the progress I was making and be another statistical number of the 92% who fail to achieve their new year resolutions. Although this Forbes article is specifically targeted at Americans, I think it can apply to mostly everyone. So this time around, I’ve made a daily goal worksheet where I can track my progress every day and have a better idea of what my problem areas are or what doesn’t work for me and where I need to plan ahead. So far, it’s only been a few days but I think it could work. I got the idea from this video.

Although the routine is still shaky, I feel like I am in charge of my own life again instead of letting my life control me. Getting disciplined and organized is my overall goal for this year and daily planning is becoming my new best friend. I hope I can tip myself into the 8% who do succeed in goal-setting. Here’s a little motivational quote I read somewhere on LifeHack which makes complete sense to me right now:

It’s never too late to start over. If you weren’t happy with yesterday, try something different today. Don’t stay stuck. Do better.

Get back on the horse
Meanwhile, I would love to hear some planning and scheduling tips from you guys! What works for you and any advice you can give me to help plan my day, week, month and year better? I would love to hear from you! πŸ™‚

You can email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com
You can also follow me on Facebook , Instagram, Twitter, Goodreads and BlogLovin’

Email Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE

 

12 thoughts on “Take-A-Step Thursday #8 – Get Back On The Horse

  1. kate ruth says:

    Congrats on reaching 200 followers! I absolutely depend on my planner for setting and sticking to my goals. Mine has a weekly layout with the hours written in, so I can easily plan out how long I think everything should take and schedule my day appropriately. It really gives me a better sense of how much time I actually have each day and makes getting everything done seem a lot more attainable. Good luck getting back on the horse! You’ve got this πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thistles and Whistles says:

      Thank you so much Kate ! I love the good ol’ planners/filofaxes so much too and have tried using them so many times over the past few years (love the idea of carrying them around!) but somehow they never work for me. 😦 This time though, I have started writing a plan of action for daily goals like exercising, reading etc in an Excel spreadsheet with columns of all the days on it so I can tick off each activity and add a few comments/notes which seems to be doing the trick. Thanks so much for the best wishes too ! Hope I can do it this time around. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. listeningaloud says:

    Welcome back and thank you for taking some time to ground yourself. When you prioritize yourself, I think it puts you in a better position to help others (your mom, your readers, etc). As for planning, I admit that I’ve fallen off the wagon in the last 6 weeks and allowed other things to take priority. I am trying to get back on track now. I discovered this daily/weekly/quarterly planner a little over a year ago and it helped me immensely http://www.amazon.com/Womans-Success-Planner-Spiral-2015/dp/B00I9OW1N8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1431695816&sr=8-1&keywords=women%27s+success+planner. It is amazing! (I haven’t ordered one since January, which part of the reason I’ve gotten off track.) It has space for meal planning, weekly and monthly goals and tasks. You can even tailor your daily tasks, so I added things like making the bed and taking out the trash. Thanks for nudging me to get back on track…(heads over to Amazon to order planner πŸ˜‰ ).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thistles and Whistles says:

      Thank you so much for all the support ! I agree with you, planning is essential and something I’ve always struggled with. I’ve been making excel sheets recently and this is working great for me (mainly because I can just delete/replace what doesn’t work for me) and this makes organizing so much neat and easy. I’ll definitely have a look at the planner link – it sounds amazing ! I am glad you have been motivated to get back on track too. It gives me a great boost when I know that there are many out on the same journey to be better selves. It encourages me even more to learn and exchange experiences. Thank you so much again! Time to go for that morning run now. πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

      Like

Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

