Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books for Life 101

I am so excited to be sharing my Top Ten Books this week. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the lovely ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is on Top Ten Books That Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught X 101 (examples: YA fantasy 101, feminist literature 101, magic in YA 101, classic YA lit 101, world-building 101).

What an amazing subject to talk about (no pun intended) ! I was so excited when I read this topic that I felt that I just had to get my two (err…ten) cents in.

When I started reading self-help and motivational books in my post-college years during a bad phase of my life, I realised that my ‘bookish’ knowledge gained in school and university had never been enough and that beyond the textbooks and the theories, I wasn’t prepared for the real world at all. Times are much different now than back when I was in school because there’s so much information that students have access to which is a huge advantage. However, so many practical things are not covered in the classroom setting including setting goals, getting out there with confidence, leadership skills and other basic knowledge that is useful for everyone. So if I were a teacher, besides fiction which is so important for the imagination, these Top Ten Books Would Most Definitely Be On My Syllabus If I Taught Life 101 :

  1. The Secret by Rhonda Byrne : Oh My God! (Say it with me, each word at a time like Janice!) I cannot emphasize how much this book changed my life! I was the last person you would EVER see reading a Self-Help book, no way, jose. This came to me at the perfect time when I needed it the most and I have never been the same again. I have even written about it here. In fact, I just finished re-watching the movie version a few minutes ago because I sort of needed a reminder about the power of The Law of Attraction and I highly highly recommend everyone to read this (or watch the film!) at least once, no matter what age you are.

    The Secret

  2. God Never Blinks by Regina Brett : What a lovely book this is! 50 life lessons learned in 50 years of newspaper columnist Regina Brett. I loved the heartwarming personal stories and the lessons she learned out of them. I’ve mentioned more about this book in one of my earlier posts. Definitely a good book to read while in school to prepare yourself for the years ahead.

    God Never Blinks

  3. Goals! by Brian Tracy : I’ve had this book in my TBR pile for ages! I’ve always read and applied the book’s principles in bits and pieces but this time I’m on a mission to go through it in it’s entirety and practically apply them while answering some tough questions! I wish someone had taught me how to set goals and achieve them in school. I would definitely teach this to my students for sure.

    Goals

  4. As a Man Thinketh by James Allen : This isn’t even a book, it’s like a little booklet of a few pages under hundred. I was given this to read by an American gentleman whom I had met in India and I remember the book was full of his personal notes and scribbles. I really really enjoyed this little treasure, it was a confirmation of everything that I had read in The Secret. For students who don’t want to read too many pages, read this!

    As-a-Man-Thinketh

  5. I Have a Dream / Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish / Connect the Dots / Poor Little Rich Slum by Rashmi Bansal : I’m going to go ahead and suggest all these four books by Rashmi Bansal to anyone wanting to take the entrepreneurship route.  I love the real life stories of all the Indians from poor or middle class families that she has met and interviewed and who have made a mark for themselves. This book is for all the big dreamers out there.

    I Have A Dream

  6. You Can Heal Your Life by Louise L. Hay : Now this may not necessarily be interesting to young teenage blood, BUT it is the best book out there for applying the Law of Attraction and the power of affirmations to heal yourself of any disease both mentally and physically. I love Louise’s personal story – she went through a lot of problems in her teens from sexual abuse to giving up her baby for adoption and she didn’t begin her life until her mid-40’s when she got divorced from her husband. Her journey from battling cancer (and curing it herself!) to becoming the founder of a multi-million publishing house is amazing and the lesson I have taken from this book is that it’s never too late to start anything. I would definitely suggest reading it while in school.

    You Can Heal Your Life

  7. Tuesdays with Morrie / The Five People You Meet In Heaven / For One More Day by Mitch Albom : I’m pretty sure I’ve read more books by Mitch Albom but I can’t seem to remember the plots of any of them. All I remember is how they made me feel – a little teary, a little happy, and so so grateful for the presence of loved ones. The heartwarming style of writing just goes straight to the very depths of your soul and there are so so many lessons to be learned from all of them. For all you non-fiction skeptics, they’re all written in a fictitious style so you can rush to your nearest bookstore and pick them up.

    Tuesdays with morrie

  8. Any book by Robin Sharma : Really, go for it ! He’s one of the world’s top success coaches who teaches leadership, personal and business mastery skills. The best part is, his books are for E.V.E.R.Y.B.O.D.Y. and not just for people in suits. If you’re into fiction with a lesson, go for his first book The Monk Who Sold His Safari which was a huge bestseller. I love his little personal anecdotes which he adds in most of his books and although I have temporarily dropped out of his 5 AM Club, I still have complete faith in its benefits.

    The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari

  9. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens by Sean Covey : This is such a fun and practical book to read with cute illustrations. Teaches you everything from writing your personal mission and vision statement to setting clear goals. A must read for teens !

    The Seven Habits of Highly Effective Teens

  10. The Power of Positive Thinking by Norman Vincent Peale : Another great gem ! Based on The Law of Attraction and Biblical references, this book will leave you so happy, positive and carefree that you will forget about your unnecessary worries of things that haven’t happened! Go ahead and watch his larger than life personality in a couple of his sermon videos on YouTube. Best book to read for students while they’re preparing for exams or an interview!

    The Power of Positive Thinking

So these were my top ten books in my syllabus for Life 101. Let me know if you’ve read them before or are inspired to read them! If you have any other book suggestions, please do let me know in the comments below! I would love to hear from you! 🙂

If you want to drop me a line, you can email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com and you can also follow me on Facebook , Instagram, Twitter, Goodreads and BlogLovin’

Email Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE

 

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books for Life 101

  1. Holly says:

    I haven’t read any of these books- I’ll definitely have to check them out! Tuesdays with Morrie has been on my TBR ever since I read The Five People You Meet in Heaven. The Power of Positive Thinking also looks like a really worthwhile read. Great list, and thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. stu06bloc9 says:

    Life101 could make a great tag or new event for sharing motivation and tips – maybe under the banner of Take-A-Step Thursday. Just popped by to see how things are going, hope you’re having a great summer 🙂 The Brian Tracy book in particular caught my attention and the final ‘the Power of Positive thinking’ – let me know when you open enrollments for your new co-learning feature 😉

    Like

    • Thistles and Whistles says:

      Hello ! Thanks for stopping by! How are things going for you post Blogging 201 ? You’ve given me a great suggestion for Life 101 – thanks so much! I’ll definitely work on something of the sorts. My summer is going well, what about yours ? Stay in touch! Cheers, Tx

      Liked by 1 person

      • stu06bloc9 says:

        Hi 🙂 thanks for reply, hope you don’t mind the reblog I just posted of TAST#10. Mine’s not bad so far thanks, still getting used to work routine so blogging was on hold for months until very recently. Post B201 I probably need to go back and start again with those tasks, or do B101 but no way I’ll keep up so probably do those tasks indie-style at my own pace and not sign up this round, tho tempting. Thanks for reply 🙂 and for visiting my blog recently too 🙂

        Like

      • stu06bloc9 says:

        Good luck with Writing101, I’ll look forward to reading 🙂 I’ve had to decide to leave sign-ups alone for now as I’ll never keep up and put myself under too much pressure. getting to work is enough for now 🙂 I definitely need to tackle those B201 assignments again 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. rosemawrites says:

    Hi there! I am also a participant of TTT but I was not able to publish about this particular category. Nonetheless, I am just so happy that you included THREE Mitch Albom books! 🙂 I am a fan and I completely agree with your thoughts about Tuesdays with Morrie, The Five People You Meet in Heaven and For One More Day. 🙂

    The Time Keeper and The First Phone Call from Heaven are both great reads as well! 🙂

    Like

Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

