Writing 101 – Day 5 – Let social media inspire you

Running

Just Do It

Not now, the mind is weeping,
Not now, my body is sleeping.
You can do it in the eve,
Just put on your running shoes and leave.

One day turns into a week or two,
Until I simply don’t know what to do.
There’s a constant battle going on,
Every morning at the break of dawn.

A month goes by, a year,
And I find myself still lying here.
My body is weak, so is my mind,
Time has not been very kind.

If only I had woken up that day,
Put on my running shoes come what may.
Sucked up and stuck to it,
And not allowed myself to quit.

This quote by Muhammad Ali spoke to me because getting disciplined in health and fitness is a constant endeavour as well as a current struggle of mine. Let me know in the comments below what you thought of my simple attempt at poetry. I would appreciate your feedback. 🙂

Also have a look at my previous Writing 101 assignments:
Day 1 : I Write Because…
Day 2 : Write A List
Day 3 : One-Word Inspiration
Day 4 : A story in a single image

You can email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com
You can also follow me on Facebook , Instagram, Twitter, Goodreads and BlogLovin’

Email Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE

 

7 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Day 5 – Let social media inspire you

  1. rosemawrites says:

    That poem is awesome but you know what I love most? It’s the fact that I can super relate to your post!

    I have been battling in telling myself to exercise! Really. I was able to run for the past two weeks but I stopped this week due to, you know it. Tardiness.

    But this motivated me, again! Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thistles and Whistles says:

      Thank you so much! I am not a good poet for sure but I thought I would give it a go this time. 🙂

      I can so relate to tardiness, believe me. I take procrastination to levels it might have never reached before and when I read Muhammad Ali’s quote, the guilt pricked at me again. That I hadn’t been actively working on my running and lost the motivation again.

      I’m so glad it motivated you too and I hope that we both manage to start running consistently!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tx

      Liked by 1 person

Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

