Writing 101 – Day 18 – A map as your muse

Have you ever used a mind map to plot your life’s journey? Or start a business or tackle any goal ? I haven’t.

Mind Mapping is a great alternative for those who are more visual and creative and prefer a more non-linear approach to setting goals. Most people are used to conventional list making but I discovered it does not always work very effectively for me so I thought I would give visual brainstorming a shot instead. My #1 priority at the moment is Health and Fitness so I decided to lay it all out on paper and see what I came up with.

Some of the things on my Health and Fitness mind map are things which are already part of my lifestyle – for example, I have added all the food items that I’ve been told to avoid but I also wanted to write down all the things that I want to slowly incorporate into my health and fitness routine like meditation and visualization which I am not very disciplined at yet. Please excuse my lack of artistry skills but this is what I came up last night after being inspired by this post:

Mind Mapping

The mind map is a great starting base for breaking down any long-term goals and seeing what ideas you can come up with.

I also downloaded the free Mindly app on my Android Phone just to try it out. I am not sure how I feel about it yet but it has a very clean look and is pretty easy to use.

I liked mapping my goal out on paper because it was easier than list-making which can be quite restrictive in terms of space and creativity. While mind mapping, ideas just kept coming and coming and it was simpler to branch them out. Once the mind map is ready, then you can proceed to list-making by drafting an action plan in detail. I found it a great exercise and plan to do it for other areas in my life as well.

Have you made a mind map in any area of your life? I would love to know more about it. Please leave a comment below to let me know.


If you enjoyed this blog post, I’d be very grateful if you’d help spread it by emailing it to a friend, or sharing it on Twitter or Facebook. Thank you!

If you’d like to contact me for enquiries or just to say hello, you can email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com or even connect with me on Facebook , Instagram, Twitter, Goodreads and BlogLovin’

Email Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE
11 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Day 18 – A map as your muse

  1. kathiegregory says:

    Hi T, this is a great idea, and a lovely interpretation of the task. I have made a similar sort of map for my business, but it wasn’t completely free flowing, it did focus on specific aspects. I think I’ll have a go at doing one like you have – see where it takes me! Best wishes, kathie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thistles and Whistles says:

      Thank you so much Kathie! Yes, please do try it this way and let me know your experiences. But I would also love to know the kind of structured map you used for your business. Maybe there’s an idea there as well, I would love to give both a shot and see how it goes. Thanks for stopping by, I hope the horses and Wolfie are doing well! Cheers, Tx

      Like

  2. Laduchessederat says:

    Hi !! Great idea to talk about mind mapping for assignment n°19. Have you tried Scapple ? It’s a mind mapping app that’s very easy to use and that doesn’t need one central idea. You can develop you projet anyway you want ;).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Annie says:

    I haven’t really used it on life. I’ve used it at work, for client’s projects, etc. This is a good point you brought up – I have to start using it as a tool to help map my life!

    Great post, Tx!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Annie says:

        Let me find out and share it with you. I’m reading a book by Sir Ken Robinson, “Finding your elements” in which one of the exercises uses mind map to identify your talent/ passion, what you’re good at/ what you want to do in life. I haven’t got the chance to do the exercises yet (yeah, life happens) but when I do get there I’ll share it with you!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thistles and Whistles says:

      Thank you! Yes, I found it a great organizational tool to link/group similar topics together so that your mind is much more focused instead of jumping from one topic to another trying to make sense of it. List making doesn’t quite give me the same feeling. I think once the topics are grouped together then it makes it easier to draft a proper list of detail-oriented actions. What is your experience on the same?

      Like

Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

