Films I am Looking Forward To This Fall/Winter 2015

Popcorn

As much as I love the big screen experience, going to the cinemas can get really expensive. I am a rare movie-goer and very picky about the ones I watch on the big screen. I’ve been to the cinemas for only two movies this year – Kingsman: The Secret Service and Spy, both coincidentally being of the same spy/action-comedy genre – one was more comedy than the other but both thoroughly enjoyable.

This Fall/Winter there are some amazing films coming out which I am very excited about and hope to catch in theaters. There’s a heavy bias involved in choosing the first three films and you’ll know why soon enough:

      1. Crimson Peak : So, I’m not a fan of the horror genre. AT ALL. I’m that chicken who covers her eyes shut with the palms of her hands and peeps at the screen through her fingers when a scary scene comes on. I haven’t watched more than two horror films in cinemas and in retrospect, they were both very mildly scary. Crimson Peak, I’ve heard, is heart-palpitating-touch-me-and-I’ll-scream-bloody-murder kind of scary. So why am I going? Well, my answer is simply – Tom Hiddleston. The trailer really fascinated me though. I mean, what’s not to love about a dashing English gentleman with a shady past who woos and marries an American wannabe-author and brings her home in a beautiful but creepy manor on top an equally creepy hill where blood curdling ‘crazy shit’ begins to take place? Yeah, that’s kinda fun.
        Starring: Tom Hiddleston, Mia Wasikowska, Jessica Chastain, Charlie Hunnam
        Director: Guillermo Del Toro
        Release Date: October 16th 2015
      2. High Rise – This film, set in the mid 1970’s is based on J.G. Ballard’s dystopian novel of the same name. Dr. Robert Laing is a young doctor who moves into a luxury tower block that is cut off from main society. I haven’t read the novel yet so I don’t know what exactly happens but judging from this movie clip, there’s some weird stuff expected. I hope to read the novel before I go for it but my main motive for watching this movie is pretty clear.
        Starring: Tom Hiddleston, Jeremy Irons, Elizabeth Moss, Sienna Miller, Luke Evans
        Director: Ben Wheatley
        Release Date: TBA
      3. I Saw The Light – This movie choice also has to do with the same above tall, dapper, Englishman with blue eyes. Only this time, he’s playing a biopic role of 1940’s legendary American country singer Hank Williams whose alcohol and substance abuse caused his untimely death at age 29. This movie portrays his fiery and tumultuous relationship with his wife and manager Audrey Williams. Hand the man a guitar and ask him to croon in a country twang and let’s see what he does!
        Starring: Tom Hiddleston, Elizabeth Olsen
        Director: Mark Abraham
        Release Date: November 27th 2015
      4. Spectre – 2015 seems to be the year of spies! Skyfall has to be my favourite film of the whole Daniel Craig series. Not only did I love Adele’s haunting opening melody, but it showed James Bond in a very vulnerable light in the dark and breathtakingly beautiful Scottish countryside. I can’t say I am equally excited for Spectre but I would like to see how Ralph Fiennes plays the ruthless M in place of the strong Judi Dench. There’s way too much action in this film than I care to see but this is a series which I would like to finish.
        Starring: Daniel Craig, Ralph Fiennes, Christopher Waltz, Andrew Scott
        Director:Β  Sam Mendes
        Release Date: November 6th 2015 onward

Are you going to see any of these movies as well or are you going to see something else? Let me know in the comments below. I LOVE hearing from you! πŸ™‚


Thank you for taking the time to visit this blog, I always value your encouragement and support! If you liked this blog post, I’d be very grateful if you’d help spread it by emailing it to a friend, or sharing it on Twitter, Facebook and other social media. Thank you!

If you’d like to contact me for enquiries or just to say hello, you can email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com or even connect with me on Facebook , Instagram, Twitter, Goodreads and BlogLovin’

Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE
25 thoughts on “Films I am Looking Forward To This Fall/Winter 2015

Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

