Writing 101 – Day 3 – One-word inspiration

uncertainty

Ooh, it’s starting to get tougher already. Today’s writing assignment is open to interpretation. The task is to select one word that speaks the most to you from the six words given below and let your mind do the talking and your pen do the writing:

TREASURE
REGRET
HOME
LOVE
UNCERTAINTY
SECRET

I was honestly stuck between two words : Regret and Uncertainty. When I started writing about Regret, I realised that the content was very similar to another post of mine which is scheduled for a later date. So here’s my take on Uncertainty:

Do you feel lost sometimes? No matter what your age is? I feel like I’ve been at perpetual crossroads for the past 15 years of my life and I honestly don’t know where I’m headed even at my current age when I should have figured things out by now. Hell, I should have figured things out 5 years ago but I didn’t. Maybe it’s me, maybe I’m a late-bloomer, maybe I’m a slow learner but whatever it is, I hate not knowing, especially now when it feels like  time is passing rapidly and quickly like sand through my fingers.

It’s not so bad as the previous years though. Taking control of some key areas of my life, starting slowly and learning from my mistakes is helping a lot. It feels good to know what you do want eventually in life, as opposed to fighting the things that you don’t want.

I know that ultimately, the reins of my life’s carriage are in my own hands, but knowing how to control them is a skill that comes with practice. And realising that old habits are not replaced overnight. It takes a lot of patience and persistence.

Sometimes, the evil twins Mr. Procrastination and Mr. Failure Fear keep rearing their ugly heads now and again. Mr. Procrastination is worse though. He just holds me far behind till Mr. Failure Fear comes and knocks me out. I just want to shut them in a box and bury them deep in the bowels of the earth where they cannot get to me.

Some people say it’s okay to not know. And some say it’s necessary to always know where you’re going. I have done the not knowing and I can personally say it’s not as nice as it sounds or as fun as it looks in movies. Or maybe I’ve been doing that wrong too. So that’s why I want to take the second option now and hope it leads me to a better place.

However, every now and then, I feel uncomfortable and breathless. So afraid that I will fail before I even begin. So fearful of not knowing how to do things and how to get to wherever I want to go. How do I control my anxiety though? How do I stop that panicky feeling from emerging? I have to keep reminding myself to take it one day at a time. And to remember that even though there is no time to waste, there is no need for haste either.

Of course, the best of plans can get waylaid. If plan A fails, then it’s all about how you take things in your stride and move on to plan B, C and D that matters. Something that I still need to continuously teach myself and practice.

To end with a quote by Eckhart Tolle that brings some solace to my anxious self, “When you become comfortable with uncertainty, infinite possibilities open up in your life.” And, that just makes me feel so much better.

Also have a look at:
Day 1 of Writing 101 : I Write Because…
Day 2 of Writing 101 : Write A List

You can email me at thistlesandwhistles@hotmail.com
You can also follow me on Facebook , Instagram, Twitter, Goodreads and BlogLovin’

Email Facebook Instagram Twitter GoodReads BlogLovin
SIGNATURE
17 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Day 3 – One-word inspiration

  1. Gina Blue says:

    Hello! Don’t know your name…did i somehow miss it?? I’m a late-bloomer, a slow-learner…I know that about me today. How to explain…I never seemed to be connected to the times I was born into…today my present is very much connecting with my past…in other words my past is my present…if that makes any sense! But I’m lovin’ it! And somehow it has something to do with longevity, but I haven’t figured that one out yet. Enjoy your uncertainty! GinaBlue
    https://writing101september2015.wordpress.com/2015/09/09/writing-101-day-3-one-word-inspiration/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thistles and Whistles says:

      Hello Gina, thanks for stopping by! Actually, I prefer anonymity on my blog at present which is why I just sign off my name as Tx on the blog. 🙂 I sort of understand what you mean, I think. Maybe it’s to do with being an old soul ? I recently realized that I am an old soul (despite being in my twenties!) and that it’s not such a bad thing after all. It’s nice and refreshing to embrace yourself as you are. 🙂

      Like

  2. kathiegregory says:

    Hi,
    Love your post on this assignment. I can really identify with it, I’m starting to be brave, and not crippled by insecurity, and failure/fear, but it’s so hard, and it shouldn’t be. None of it is life and death and if it goes wrong, it’s not the end of the world. Wish I started this journey when I was twenty something, like you – I’m 42, and kind of think I’ve left it too late..
    Best wishes, kathie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thistles and Whistles says:

      Hi Kathie, thank you so much! I’m glad you liked it! I agree with you that failure and fear aren’t life and death and the end of the world as we know it. My dad used to say the exact same thing all the time when I was in school and got extremely scared of exams and other things and he still manages to sneak it in once in a while if there’s a situation I feel I cannot handle or get stressed about. Like you, I need to work on many things too. But I’ve learned that it’s never too late – I thought I had left it too late too (I’m at the very end of my 20’s) but I have just realised that as long as you keep working towards something positive (even if it’s a minuscule change), it’s never too late to turn your life around. Thanks so much for stopping by! I will be popping over to read your blog shortly. 🙂
      Cheers, Tx

      Liked by 1 person

Hi, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

